Log in

AWL Awards

At our Annual Meeting each September, the Association for Women Lawyers recognizes several individuals who have made a difference within the legal community and the community at large. AWL gives four awards which recognize these important contributions:

  • Mentoring
  • Pro Bono Service
  • Community Involvement
  • Founders Award

With the exception of the Founders Award, nominations are open to AWL members and non-members. Selection preference is given to members, however. The purpose of our annual awards is in support of our mission, which is:

  • to promote the welfare, interests and professional development of lawyers who are women;
  • to promote the legal interests of women generally; 
  • to maintain the honor and integrity of the legal profession; 
  • to advance justice for all individuals.

The Founders Award is given to an AWL member who has significantly contributed to the advancement of women in the legal profession, and whose career demonstrates dedication to the highest levels of professional ethics and excellence.

Nominations are accepted in July. For more information, contact the AWL Administrator.

Award winners include:

Founders Award
Kristin M. Bergstrom
Karen Case
Kelly Centofanti
Diane Diel
Hon. Jean DiMotto
Hon. Hannah C. Dugan
Margo Kirchner
Hon. Mary Kuhnmuench
Susan Lovern
Hon. Mary Triggiano
Mary Wolverton

Community Involvement
Kathryn Barker
Wendy Bosworth
Hon. Jane Carroll
Susan Conwell
Catherine Doyle
Judith Drinka
Hon. Janine Geske
Melissa Greipp
Hon. Joan Kessler
Maria Gonzalez Knavel
Hon. Mary Kuhnmuench
Bonnie Liss
Marquette University Legal Clinic
Maureen McGinnity
Jane Mulcahy
Lisa Nebauer
Kelly Noyes
Adrienne Olson
Erika Petty
Hon. Janet Protasiewicz
Tanya Salman
Marti Schreier-Wronski
Deborah Skurulsky
Jennine Sonntag
Marla Stephens
Mary Triggiano
Jennifer Van Kirk

Erin Binns
Gwen Connolly
Maggie Cook
Danae Davis
Ann Devine
Patty Engel
Terese Halfman
Beth Hanan
Anne Morgan Hlavacka
Sheila Heitzig
Catherine Priebe Hertzberg
Marsha Huff
Hon. Nancy Joseph
Hon. Mary Kuhnmuench
Beth Kushner
Elizabeth Mertz
Nicole Penegor
Susan Rosenberg
Elizabeth Ruthmansdorfer
Brenda Sunby
Hon. Mary Triggiano
Katherine Schill
Pam Schmidt
Jan Schroeder
Amy Seibel
Mary Wolverton

Pro Bono
Colleen Ball
Charlotte Bleistein
Christy Brooks
Katherine Charlton
Hannah C. Dugan
Dean Howard Eisenberg
Robyn Elliott
Meg Gaines
Hon. Patricia Gorence
Susan Gramling
Noleta Jansen
DeVonna Joy
Michele LaVigne
Mary Leonard
Laurna Kinnel
Laura Gramling Perez
Katherine Maloney Perhach
Patricia Risser
Hon. Richard Sankovitz
Deborah Scheid
Debora Schneider
Susannah Camic Tahk
Mary Triggiano
Deanna Weiss
Kashoua Yang
Lynette Zigman
Molly Zillig

  • In 2004, a special service award was given to Krukowski & Costello for the firm's work on Women Judges’ Night.
  • In 2001, a special service award was given to Mary Wolverton for her work on the NCWBA Board.
  • In 1996, Margadette Demet received a lifetime achievement award in mentoring.
Copyright, 2022 - Association for Women Lawyers - Milwaukee, WI
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software